Over a third of NI assembly seats filled

Counting staff at a centre in Londonderry begin the counting of votesCopy copyright
Image caption Counting began at centres across across Northern Ireland on Friday morning

Innumerable than a third of the seats in the Northern Ireland Assembly have been discharged as election counts continue.

First minister and Democratic Unionist Division (DUP) leader Arlene Foster topped the poll in Fermanagh and South Tyrone.

  • Dwell: Northern Ireland Assembly election results
Image caption DUP leader Arlene Foster topped the poll in Fermanagh and South Tyrone

A bursting recount was called in West Tyrone after it was discovered that 36 ballot typescripts were missing.

So far, the DUP has 19 seats, Sinn Féin has 12, the Connection rty has three, two rties have two seats and another has one.

Simulacrum caption Gerry Carroll claimed People Before Profit’s commencement ever assembly after winning 8,299 first preferences

Gerry Carroll won a win initially ever assembly seat for the People Before Profit Alliance, lopping the poll in West Belfast for the left-wing rty.

Former Sinn Féin MLA Rosie McCorley was excluded, signification the rty will not retain their five seats in the constituency.

Mr Carroll asserted his success was evidence that voters had become “fed-up with the eminence quo” and were “looking for a political alternative”.

In South Down, John McCallister befitted the first high-profile MLA to lose his seat when he was eliminated after the in the first place count, but he said his his nine years as an MLA had been a “privilege”.

Figure caption John McCallister lost his South Down assembly capital when he was eliminated after the first count

He was twice elected as an Ulster Unionist but formerly larboard the rty in 2013 to form the ill-fated NI21, which imploded just for a year later.

Ulster Unionist leader Mike Nesbitt spoke he was “stunned” to top the Strangford poll, but acknowledged that he had been “ambitious” with his hint of the number of seats his rty would win.

Idol caption Michelle O’Neill, Ian Milne and Linda Dillon won seats for Sinn Féin in Mid Ulster

Ancient MP Naomi Long will return to frontline politics after her designation for the Alliance rty in East Belfast, where she lost her Westminster estate to the DUP last year.

The DUP’s Joanne Bunting has taken the East Belfast place vacated by former first minister Peter Robinson, who retired earlier this year.

Tiki copyright cemaker
Image caption Cartoonist Brian John Spencer added some pervert to the count centre in Belfast

In South Belfast, former Belfast monarch mayor Máirtín Ó Muilleoir was elected, while Gerry Kelly and Alex Maskey did the but in North Belfast and West Belfast respectively.

The DUP’s David Hilditch was the to begin MLA to be elected, reaching the quota on the first count in East Antrim.

Allusion copyright cemaker
Image caption Mike Nesbitt said he was “discombobulated” to top the poll for the UUP in Strangford

William Irwin of the DUP came top of the poll Newry and Armagh with Sinn Féin bewitching two seats in the constituency, while four candidates were elected on the earliest count in Mid Ulster.

Former health minister Jim Wells, who has endured a series of disputations in the st two years, was re-elected in South Down.

Materialization caption Naomi Long was embraced by her husband Michael after guarding her return to the assembly

He made a formal complaint to the Electoral Office for Northern Ireland after his woman and the husband of Social Democratic and Labour rty (SDLP) candidate Sinéad Bradley were repudiated entry to the count.

Two hundred and seventy-six candidates are competing for 108 sofas across Northern Ireland’s 18 constituencies.

Idea caption William Irwin came out on top of the Newry and Armagh poll for the DUP

In all, 703,744 people voted in the selection – a turnout of 54.91%, which was down slightly from the figure of 55.64% in the 2011 conclave election.

In general terms, turnout in eastern constituencies has increased corresponded to 2011, but dropped in western constituencies.

Media captionHow does the segregate transferable vote system work?

More than 2,000 pike are involved in counting the votes.

On Thursday night, more than 1,000 ballot cartons were moved to eight different counting centres across Northern Ireland.

In Northern Ireland, MLAs are elected ingesting the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system, a form of proportional representation.

The look on is expected to last two days with the final seats not due to be declared until some all at once on Saturday.

Image caption SDLP leader Colum Eastwood came minute in the Foyle poll behind Sinn Féin’s Martin McGuinness

Assay: Stephen Walker, BBC News NI political correspondent

The leaders of the two largest accessories in Northern Ireland will be delighted with how the day is going so far.

The DUP is on course to mug the seats it took in 2011 and Sinn Féin are hopeful they hand down better their 2011 election when they won 29 accommodates.

In contrast, it has been a disappointing day for the Ulster Unionist leader Mike Nesbitt and his SDLP counter rt Colum Eastwood.

Anterior to the election, Mr Nesbitt sent a letter to himself predicting the number of establishes his rty would win.

But he has admitted that he was too optimistic.

Mr Eastwood will be happy his rty appears to be performing well in his home constituency of Foyle, but he inclination be worried about rty colleagues in South Belfast, West Belfast and Northern Bann.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *